Aviation Learning Center

djpacro

• 1 year later...

Great video David,

From my perspective both those recovery methods PARE and Beggs are fairly benign, what I mean is they are non aggressive recovery techniques especially the Beggs from what appeared to be a fairly flat spin. I have had no experience in the Pitts so how would the Citabria respond in these circumstances?

Rich has some additional reading material online here. An extract:

A complete certification spin test matrix,

covers many permutations of weight and balance, fuel load differential,

entry conditions, control and flap positions and so on, can be

several hundred points deep. Omitting a few data points—as in the

above experiment—reveals far less about the efficacy of a particular

technique than a “fail” reveals.

So, the spin recovery method in the POH is well substantiated. No such comprehensive testing exists for the Beggs-Mueller technique but there is some "reliable" information as follows:

• excellent technique for the Pitts

• it does not work for all spin modes in the Decathlon and Cessna 150

• there are other types for which it definitely does not work

I teach it in the Pitts only, as well as the flight manual technique.

As for the Citabria - you are on your own.

.....I teach it in the Pitts only, as well as the flight manual technique. As for the Citabria - you are on your own.

David,

That is a really interesting article written by Rich Stowell you posted. Have you read his book 'The Light Airplane Pilots Guide to Stall/Spin Awareness'?

I was always taught the NASA Standard method of spin recovery in both the C150 and the Citabria 7GCBC (flap fitted), but I was not aware that was what it was called.