Air New Zealand NZ135 Auckland-Brisbane on a 744

nzom_pilot

This is my first attempt at a trip report and the format is based on the thousands I have read on various online forums over the last few years, comments welcome.

13 October 2008

NZ135

AKL-BNE

Boeing 747-4F6

ZK-SUJ – Auckland

Seat: 59K upgraded to 29A

STD:0925 ATD: pushback 0935, wheels up 0947

STA:0955 ATD: touchdown 0939, on gate 0947

Departure: Gate 6, Runway 05R

Arrival: Runway 19, Gate 80

The day started early at 0500 local, which was made even worse when thought of in Brisbane time (0200!). After getting ready and checking out of the Centra Auckland Airport hotel, I caught their shuttle to the International terminal.

After locating and filling out a New Zealand departure card, I joined the queue for check in, which was almost non existent. Checked in by a very pleasant Air New Zealand employee who informed me that my airpoints dollars upgrade from economy to premium economy was most likely to be successful due to light loads in PE, and that she would allocate me my economy window seat 59K, and that the gate agent would confirm my upgrade and give me the new boarding pass.

Headed upstairs to the viewing area but there weren’t many aircraft in that I needed to photograph. Then headed to one of the landside café’s, for a spot of breakfast, it was below par to say the least.

After passing easily through passport control and security I explored the international terminal. Since I last flew international from Auckland in 2004 there have been significant changes to the international terminal, the most notable being the addition of a “2nd” story to segregate the arriving and departing passengers.

Movements of note around the international terminal were Pacific Blue 738s ZK-PBF, PBJ and PBI, Qantas 747-338 VH-EBX, Cargolux 744F LX-GCV, and Air New Zealand Boeing 737 ZK-NGE on the domestic connection NZ303 to Christchurch. My aircraft ZK-SUJ arrived on gate 6 shortly after 0700 from LAX.