G'day all

Guest FlyBlue

Guest FlyBlue

I have always been interested in flying and owning a plane, 12 months ago one of my clients told me how cheap his DA40 was to run, (even though it is a GA aircraft) and got me thinking........ I figure RAA is the best solution and have just started with Narromine flying school.

Been reading your posts and realise the massive amount of combined experience and knowledge this group has, that beginners can draw from.

Only just joined as have minimal experience with flying and therefore minimal knowledge so not able to offer advice, but I do have some questions............

Have decided to buy a plane for business use and am hoping to get some recommendations (or ideas) on planes most suitable.

My preferences are as follows..... but as I am not an expert in this I am very flexible.

1 - nose wheel

2 - max amount of fuel

3 - new or low hours on all components

4 - speed as VFR and most of my trips have to take place in the winter months.

Following is an idea of what my missions would require, based on what I have been doing in a vehicle for the last 3-4 years.

Depart Narromine, fly 450-700km nonstop, land on wide farm roadway or grass strip, be on site for 2-4 hrs, depart site, fly back to Narromine and land before night fall. (obviously)

Looking forward to getting involved and gaining experience with time..........

THANKS FOR THE GREAT FORUM

FlyBlue

G'day FlyBlue,

What you need is -

A Jabiru J170c.

1. nosewheel

2. useable fuel 130 liters (@15 per hour) most trips might be done with all fuel reuired in the aeroplane.

3. buy it new (should be good with the tax)

4. 100 kt cruise, 290 kilo payload (LSA), very strong undercarriage for rough strips (just remove spats and fit bigger, tougher tyres and keep nosewheel up on landing), High wing goes over the scrub. Good STOL capacity for the cruise speed required.