A long time in the wilderness

Orf

Some 45 years ago I was an RAAF fighter pilot and then disappeared into the wilderness of non flying.

Recently I decided I am not too old to fly so here I am looking for an aircraft to buy.

I will be at Natfly to see what is available.

Any advice?

Guest Maj Millard

There will be plenty there to look at Orf, with all the new and latest stuff. Take your check book !..hook into the folks from this forum, who will be there, for any knowledgable advice on aircraft that you may need. Enjoy, and Welcome to the forum...................Maj..024_cool.gif.7a88a3168ebd868f5549631161e2b369.gif

So what were you flying 45 years ago ?.......I did six years 68-74 with Hercs and Mirages myself, just as ground crew.

So what were you flying 45 years ago ?.......I did six years 68-74 with Hercs and Mirages myself, just as ground crew.

I mainly flew Vampires, Meteors and Sabres. I was a member of the Meteorite Aerobatic Team.I spent 2 years at Richmond as a test pilot flying aircraft coming out of De Haviland and Fairy Aviation, Bankstown. I was involved in testing the Cessna 180s that the army had acquired. I even flew the last RAAF Auster down to Tocumwell for disposal.

I am also qualified on Dakotas, Winjeels, Tiger Moths and Wirraways. I even have a couple of hours in a Lincoln Bomber.

When I was at Richond I had the pleasure of flying 5 different types of aircraft in one day - most enjoyable.

Guest Maj Millard

When I arrived at Williamtown around 72, the Vampires were all parked up, they still had two operational Sabres flying so I got to see them operate. The Macchis' and Mirages were all the go.......................................................................................Maj..024_cool.gif.7a88a3168ebd868f5549631161e2b369.gif

Guest Decca

Hello Orf, welcome to the forums.