HKS 700e any problems? fitting to a TST

Thruster87

HKS in Thruster.

The engine was designed to be a 4-stroke alternative for the rotax 582? and similar I believe. I have had some experience with the engine. Much cleaner installation without the exhaust bulk of a 2-stroke. PM me if you wish. N...

Seems the HKS would workout at near $12000.00 which includes a new prop to suit [bolly]. Hirth 3203 at around $9000.00 for engine [gear box,dual ignition, electirc start, fuel injected] prop extra if required.Rotax 503 with B-box $5200.00. Cheers

Guest TOSGcentral

Hmmmm! A bit about the HKS and Thrusters.

To my knowledge there are no Thrusters currently flying in Oz with HKS motors – certainly not legally. They were fitted to the Vision 600 initially (this is the license built Brit T600) but were soon discarded.

While good on paper they proved not to be up to the task and were gutless wonders when fitted to a Thruster. Those fitted were removed and replaced with R582 or Jab 2200 motors. If they were not up to the much cleaner 600 airframe then there would be no hope on the TST (or any of the earlier two seaters) and you would be better off with a R503, but I would recommend an R582 which really does suit the aircraft.

The situation is not as simple as just the motor – the Thruster two seat models are CAO 95.25 certified aircraft – they are NOT some derivation of CAO 95.10 where you can do much as you please. Deciding that this or that engine sounds nice does not mean that you can stick it on and go fly it legally!

For the record the currently approved CAO 95.25 model Thrusters (Gemini, TST, T300 & T500) are certified for the following engines ONLY!

R503

R532

R582

R912

Certified propellers are:

Catto 2 blade wooden

Brolga 2 blade composite ground adjustable

Brolga 3 blade composite ground adjustable.