Hello From The Uk!

Hi everyone,

I've signed up to here because i'm considering coming to Australia in September, hiring an aircraft and touring the country for a month or so with a freind of mine.

Im a 160hr JAR PPL, IMC The majority of my experiance is on pa28's but recently more a little L4 Cub.

I am also a disabled pilot. I'm a paraplegic and have no use of my legs.

this is where you guys help will be invaluable! does anyone know of any clubs in west Aus? (around Perth ideally)

that have aircraft hire with paraplegic modifications. most common is the vision air and is fitted to PA28'S and Cessna's

any thoughts would be very helpful.

hope to see you soon and thanks for reading.

Blue skies

Arthur.

Guest David C

Welcome Arthur ...Like Dex , I'm unable to provide you with any info , however , I do recommend the suggested link .

I will be going in the opposite direction to you in September , and flying hopefully from my old airfield of Halfpenny Green in the UK . You are probably aware of that airfield in the Midlands . I've been visiting there for many years , even as a kid on my pushbike to watch the Austers and the like just circuit bashing ... I now fly out of The Oaks , nr Sydney ..

Best wishes ,

Dave C

Unfortunately, due to regulations, it is unlikely you'll be able to solo or fly in command on your trip. Too much paperwork that's almost impossible to complete from abroad and can take months even when you are here.

So best you can hope for is flying with someone else...

Arthur, our club used to have a removable rudder "bar" as an approved mod for any PA-28 and I guess the link that cficare posted would provide that info.

If you go to the CASA website you will get info on how to validate your licence here. You should have enough time to organize it all. You will need an ASIC which requires a police check - and that takes the time.