Nose wheel steering ... talk about challenging...

Guest adamneat

Guest adamneat

hi all,

I'm a newbie a few hours into my PPL and I've got a question regarding taxi steering. I went for a 45 minute flight today and during both pre-take off and post landing, trying to steer the plane through taxi was near on impossible. The aircraft was a C150 ... in the end the only way I could get to steer properly was to use the brakes (jam down left one to turn left, etc).

I doubt this is the right thing to do (???) but even after letting it roll a good few meters with me stomping down hard on left or right pedal would only marginally make it turn (where as the instructor seemed to be able to turn it quite easily).

I noted to said instructor that I think something is wrong with my pedals as even with full depression she wouldnt turn. In my previous two flights is always been a fair lag between stomping your foot and the plane turning but today was fairly extreme. So my question is, was this me or does this sound mechanical? I get the sense that the turning mechanism from pedal to nose wheel is spring or rubber activated in a C-150 ?

Any thoughts appreciated,

cheers

Adam

Steering in C150's

There are several 'must' checks here:

(1) make sure the nosewheel tyre is inflated to correct pressure

(2) make sure the nose strut is blown up to leave at least 50mm of shiny strut showing

(3) make sure that your brake resavoirs are full,and the pedals aren't spongy

After that, I think you'll find that holding 'back elevator' control to take weight off the nosewheel might help. Using brake to initiate a turn isn't good practice - try full rudder, plus a little power, then a 'dab' on the appropriate brake pedal.

Remember that it's easier to steer an already moving vehicle or aircraft. Avoid trying to turn the aircraft immediately from stop, or at 'crawl' speed, eg, out of the tiedown position onto a taxiway.