Alpi Pioneer & Jabiru engines

GDL

I have several questions for the group. I have a chance to buy a Alpi Pioneer 200S or 300S (there is one of each). They are available locally (near my home in Canada). I have flown the P200 but with a Rotax 912 80 hp. The 2 for sale use the Jab 2200 & 3300 respectively. I have no flying experience with either engine, although I have heard some sad tales about 2200 issues when the engine is stressed (a flying school I was at had serious problems with their 2200s and finally got rid of them).

What is your experience with either engine? Any flown either plane with the Jabiru? How does the Jab in a Pioneer compare to the 912?

G'day GDL,

If you look through this forum you will find plenty of discussion on the Jabiru motor vs. Rotax 912 et al. Generally the camp seems to be split between those for and those against the Jabiru motor. In my limited experience having trained in a Jabiru 2200 and owning a trike with Rotax 912 I have had positive experiences with both. I have no experience with the Alpi Pioneer so can't comment there.

There is plenty of experience on this forum so i am sure someone will be able to advise.

Cheers

Guest Maj Millard

My opinion only of course, but I feel you would be much better off long-term with a 912 100 hp in the Alpi, which is what most of them run anyway . Cheers...Maj....

HI Bluearsefly and Maj. I have many hours in 912 powered ultralights and am very comfortable with the engine and its reliability (my S6S has 912UL). I hear such differing opinions on the Jabiru and it can be rather confusing. And there seems to be a greater appreciation of the 3300 (less stressed perhaps?) compared to the reliability of the 2200. The Pioneer I flew was comfortable and smooth and a beautiful flyer, But I need something I can trust and which gives me satisfaction for some time. Any opinions on fuel consumption of the 2200 and 3300 versus the 912 (I prefer the real world versus what the ads tell us)?