Jabiru powered Murphy Rebel

rshannon

Greetings All,

To get rid of that "darn message" I'm offering some introductory info.

I'm a relatively new pilot, having trained and tested in a J-3 clipped wing in 2005. I've built a Murphy Rebel, N254MR, powered by a Jabiru 3300, which made its first flight on July 17, 2010, and currently has 160 TTAFE. I'm very happy with the plane, and flew it from my home at WA59 in Washington state (US) to Oshkosh last summer. And back! 026_cheers.gif.2a721e51b64009ae39ad1a09d8bf764e.gif

As far as I know, it is only the second Murphy Rebel ever to be powered by the Jabiru engine. (The only other I've heard of is in eastern Canada.) I've always suspected there must be another Jabiru-powered Rebel somewhere, most likely in Australia. If anyone knows of any others, anywhere, please advise.

Best,

Ron

Hi Ron,098_welcome.gif.81ff07d492568199326e4f64f78d7bc6.gif I have seen a few Rotax 912 and 582 powered renegades here.I have not came across any Jabby powered ones. Rotax is mainly used because they can swing a large diametre prop via there gear box. What prop size are you running Ron?

Hi Ron,098_welcome.gif.81ff07d492568199326e4f64f78d7bc6.gif I have seen a few Rotax 912 and 582 powered renegades here.I have not came across any Jabby powered ones. Rotax is mainly used because they can swing a large diametre prop via there gear box. What prop size are you running Ron?

As recommended by Jabiru and Sensenich, I have a Sensenich 68x38 composite-covered wood fixed pitch. It will over speed a bit in cruise at WOT but I don't cruise (nor race/chase) at WOT. Otherwise, it works great. Commonly loaded around 1300 lbs., it gets off the ground in a hurry, climbs ~750-800 FPM at 72 MPH, and cruises ~103 MPH TAS at 2750 RPM, burning 6 GPH, so I'm happy. [iMHO, the old debate over Jabiru's direct drive prop tip speeds-- been there -- is not worth reviving.] When this prop wears out, I might get a 68x40, but it's not worth doing until then.

Ron