CASA class 2 medical - Sydney metro DAME prices

Hi all,

I'm a new pilot starting out and trying to find the money to pay for everything is difficult so trying to find the best deal wherever possible. There is not that much information on which DAMEs are good/affordable so I rang every DAME's office and got their prices for the no-frills medical (I think I got all of them, I did avoid the Shire though, it's a bit out of the way for me, there is no conspiracy!). Most said that additional tests which are clinically indicated like ECGs and bloods would be extra.

There is quite some variation in price so make sure you shop around.

I have compiled a list of the prices as quoted to me, current as of today. I make no guarantees to its accuracy and it is merely a guide published in good faith. You should still call the DAME's office to clarify the prices. Hopefully this will make your life easier if you need to get a medical in the future!

Not sure how to go about updating the list over time though, maybe someone has ideas?

p.s. I will be going for my medical at Sydney Aviation Medical centre in the city with Dr Bhatt. Her prices are very reasonable (price included the spirometry which I require as an asthmatic, some places wanted an extra $45). Have also heard good things about the doc on other forums.

Sydney DAMEs.docx

Sydney DAMEs.docx

Sydney DAMEs.docx

• Like 1

Great work there Paul

don't forget to buget for the Casa fee to process the paper work and print your medical, though it's a flat fee but still goes on top.

Drivers Licence Medical (DL Medical). $50 at my local GP and no CASA fee but only for one year. Download the forms from CASA, fill in the paper work, present yourself to your medico, if you are ok Fax/email the forms to CASA who register the fact that the medico says you are OK. Keep a copy of the medicos certificate with your PPL when you go flying, just like you do with a class 2.

augie.gif.8d680d8e3ee1cb0d5cda5fa6ccce3b35.gif