Jabiru engine life how many hours. Fuel and a few others

Guest Condog

Guest Condog

Hi whats the rough engine rebuild costs and hours. It seems there are a lot of jabs with 2nd engines between 600 and 1000 hours which in my total novice opinion seems low.

2. Is either the 2200cc and 3300cc got a reputation better or worse thn the other.

3. Id also like to know the fuel lpm for the 3300cc at 100 knots and 90 knots if anyone knows

If youve read my other threads ive decided either a 170 or 230/430

My preference is the 170 for fuel consumption. But will it physically fit luggage if i wanted to do longer multistop trips. Like is there actually enough physical space behind the seats for a few bags. As ive not seen a 170 up close.

Plus the extra usable weight is critcal as im 100kg

Thanks in advance and big thanks for other responses ta.

Guest Andys@coffs

The engine is constantly evolving and as such the results you get to a question such as this may well be skewed by the exact configuration of the engine the poster is reporting on. Its like asking are commodores good when you know there is 30+ years of models to choose from and unlike commodores there isn't any Vx model number to tell them apart.

As I understand it the solid lifter engines rose to a peak in reliability (circa 2006/7 from memory) and then plunged when J changed to hydraulic lifters, and has I'm told now risen to equal or better that of the solid lifters with the introduction of roller cams.......but only time will tell. J will tell you that poor life is a function of poor treatment by owners and in my case that is true, but I doubt it is the case for every failure.