Airsafety Submission

Admin

I have received the following with a request to post here. As you may all know, submissions have been called in the inquiry into CASA.

-------------------------------------------------------

Submission to Enquiry into CASA

An important thing to realise about CASA is they appear not to be particularly interested in the safety of a great many people like myself. I’m a glider pilot and a RAAus pilot, and the most dangerous thing I do in flying is forced on me by CASA or Airservices. CASA can’t escape the responsibility here because they have a duty to bring safety concerns to the forefront, even when the culprit is Airservices.

Both of these organisations are regulation-enforcers, and they clearly have a corporate culture of acting as fearless red-tape policemen, but not necessarily as champions of aviation safety for all of us who fly. The government has given these agencies enormous amounts of power to interfere in my flying life and this has had the effect of making it less safe.

Here are examples of what I’m saying and what I’ve lived with for 40 years.

In a single-engine plane or a glider, ALTITUDE = SAFETY. There is no doubt about this, an extra thousand feet of altitude can make all the difference between coming down among the trees and landing safety in the event of an engine failure or, in the case of a glider, in the event of having to fly through the sinking air of a rainstorm.

For 40 years I have been flying gliders and more recently a RAAus plane from Gawler, often to the East and South-East of Gawler. In obeying what I regard as dangerous height restrictions, I have been forced into paddock landings which were otherwise quite unnecessary.