Views on CASA Schedule 5

Hi all,

New to the page and I am currently completing my University thesis on an evaluation of the maintenance schedules and regulations within Australia. I'm fairly new to the light aircraft scene so please excuse my somewhat lack of expertise on the topic, but I am here to learn!

Back to my question, I was wondering what everyone's opinions were on the current regulations and any current issues, especially regarding Schedule 5 and they way maintenance is managed and enforced.

Feel free to write as long as a response as you like, the more information the better as I am interested to hear your views and reasoning in detail.

Thanks you in advance for you help and i look forward to hearing from you all!

Steven.

Schedule 5 was written as the default G.A. major inspection standard (i.e. required every third year) because there were a lot of aircraft around for which the makers' maintenance system was considered to be inadequate. If you dig around on the CASA website, you can still find that list of aircraft whose manufacturer's system was declared unacceptable. One could opt to use Schedule 5 in preference to the manufacturer's maintenance system, and the majority of GA aircraft importers did just that; the maintenance system for a GA aircraft is in the Log Book Statement, right at the start of the airframe log book.

Since it was originally written in the 1950s, it was appropriate to the sorts of aircraft that existed back then - Austers, Chipmunks, DH Dragons, Beech 17s etcetera.

It remained pretty suitable for aircraft that were certificated under either the American Civil Aircraft Regulations Part 3 (CAR 3) or under the British Civil Aviation Regulations (BCAR Section D and later BCAR Section K); and they were also pressed into use for oddball European aircraft of that era, such as the Aero 145, Meta-Sokol, etc.