New to the site, and new to flying!

Guest link128

Guest link128

Hey, my name is Mike.

Well, I’m really new to flying so much that I haven’t flown yet, but a few months ago after I went skydiving I had a sudden urge to and have become obsessed about it. I’ve been reading quite a bit, and would like to get into it not only for recreation, but hopefully a career!

I’m currently working in IT, I’m 22 years old and after having worked in this sector for 2 years I just can’t see myself doing it the rest of my life. So now I have dreams of one day being a commercial airline pilot. Gotta aim high, right?

So I want to become involved in the community and found this site which seems to have a great community around it. I would love to have a few questions answered too.

Currently I’m working fulltime in a systems administration role for the Qld Government. I know that to achieve my new dream goal, I’d have to definitely drop this and do some part time work to cover costs of learning, so I’m thinking next year I will change what I do.

As of now, I haven’t been for a TIF. I’ve discussed some info with my 18 year old cousin who has his solo license and is working towards the same goal, he lives in Rockhampton. Me being in Brisbane, I was wondering if anyone could give me an idea of what places would be best to learn at around the area. I know there is an airfield at Caboolture, but haven’t really looked into anything yet, thought I’d get some opinions first…

I’ve got the book Flight Simulator X for real world pilots which seems highly regarded by many reviews, so I’m reading through that and learning quite a lot with some help by FSX in the meantime. I’ve had a look through Amazon.com for other flight books, there are quite a few.

So basically I’m wondering what other books I should grab and digest, and where I should be looking to learn in and around the Brisbane area. J

Cheers

Guest High Plains Drifter

link128, welcome :thumb_up: