Feeling Sick After Practice?

Guest rrruuunnn

Guest rrruuunnn

I have 5 hours in my log book. A couple hours after every flight training, I feel tired, dizzy, and sick for the next 12 to 24 hours. I feel it mostly in my head towards the neck area. My doctor said that he believes my high blood pressure is causing this.

Does anyone think helicopter training will be different?

Guest airsick
Does anyone think helicopter training will be different?

I am no doctor but I would imagine the extra workload of flying a chopper wouldn't do your blood pressure any favours. When you first start they are a whole lot harder to get a handle on.

Investigation.

I would get a thorough medical assessment. The fact that the symptoms persist for so long afterwards is interesting. The approach would be (after medical assessment) to improve your level of fitness. Flying stress (concentration/ workload) can cause very high heart rates, that can cause problems. Have it all checked out. Use a non-DAME doctor initially, but don't put it off Nev..

Guest airsick
Use a non-DAME doctor initially

Asides from costs there is no benefit to using a non-DAME doctor. If some sort of medical problem is found that prevents you from flying then you are grounded regardless of whether it was your local GP or a DAME that found it.

(Not suggesting that this was the motive behind Nevs comments by the way!)

Guest brentc

What have you been doing in your lessons? Have they included steep turns and the like or just straight and level? What altitudes are you getting to, 3,000 ft? I'm not surprised if you feel unwell if you've been doing steep turns and lots of climbing and descending, however if it's been pretty benign then you should consult your GP. Do you get a similar sensation when travelling in an airliner? They are pressurised to 8,500 ft or thereabouts, so if you have symptoms there, then that makes a little more sense to me.