Sideslipping a Trike.

farri

Hi Guys,

Can anyone tell me if a trike can be sideslipped in a cross wind landing and if so,how is it done, if not, why can`t it be done.

Cheers,

Frank.

Farri,

I am far from an expert but as a trike doesn't have a rudder it can't be intentially yawed. So from what I understand to induce a side slip you use rudder and opposite aileron (Ithink) I guess they can't.

Guest Maj Millard

Hey Frank, give Andrew Hicks a call at Montpelier (Oak valley, Townsville) had a conversation about slipping trikes with him recently, over coffee. Can't recall what the answer was, but he will. Tell him you talked to me............... 024_cool.gif.7a88a3168ebd868f5549631161e2b369.gif

Guest Andys@coffs
Hi Guys,Can anyone tell me if a trike can be sideslipped in a cross wind landing and if so,how is it done, if not, why can`t it be done.

Cheers,

Frank.

Frank

Pitch and roll are the only axies you can control as such no sideslip (and no chasing a silly ball in a glass tube, Every turn is 100% co-ordinated). However cross wind landings are still possible. Landing roll for most trikes is generally very small and as such you simply aim to land on the runway in such away as to reduce, as much as possible the crosswind component. That is for wind from the right, aim to touchdown to the far left of the runway tracking towards the far right. aim to land with the rear mains (as with every good landing...but keep the nosewheel off for a bit) and the machine will pivot quickly to align with ground track rather than the in air heading.

An issue for trikes with crosswind is the amount of wing area on the average trike. If the upwind wing tip is raised when a gust is present life can suddenly get very interesting so for most trikes, upwind wing tip down as soon as flying speed is lost.