Lightwing 582

Guest John Simpson

Guest John Simpson

Good people, I have just purchaseda Lightwing 582 in exceptionally good condition and would like to hear from any other owners who run similiar machineswho could pass on any advice to keep the 582 running reliably. Fuel consumption may be a problem for longer trips, how do I manage that? How do I obtain unleaded fuel at various landing fields?Any info about auxilary tanks?

And finally do any of you fly in the central Qld area (Emerald), I'm keen to join a couple of other aircraft for a trip somewhere.

Thanks

Congratulations! ;)

Not the fastest ultralight in the world, but a great all round aircraft.

Some tips for operating GR-582's.

If you are using as a trainer, I can't suggest the following for legal reasons, but if it's yours to play with, try this;

Get a three blade composite prop, 'Brolga', 'Warp Drive' or 'Bolly' and make sure it's well balanced.

This will increase engine and airframe life significantly.

Run a 3:1 'C' box if possible, or an 'E' box if it will fit, this will extend crank shaft life.

Avoid letting the engine idle in the 'four stroke' mode, we find ours will run smooth at around 3,000rpm on the ground, however don't adjust your thottle stop to that rpm, or you'll never be able to land!! 006_laugh.gif.0f7b82c13a0ec29502c5fb56c616f069.gif

We are running two LightWings, a two stroke and a four stroke.

The four stroke runs best on Premium Unleaded, so the two stroke gets it too, runs great.

Our 582 is oil injected and we have just started using Castrol TTS (synthetic), so far so good.

For long range work, get a plastic Jerry can (black) plumb into it some lines with outboard disconnect fittings, put a facet boost pump in line powered by a cigarette jack with switch somewhere and either 'T' branch into one of the the fuel lines up near the tank or use a self sealing fittiing fitted directly into a tank.