Can you make RAA aircraft work for you?

Tomo

What I mean by that is: can you use the aircraft (limited to an RAA cert also), for making business. NOT in the way of paying passengers!

Such as advertising: Towing banners.

Towing Gliders...

Etc....

And charge for it...

Thanks

Tomo,

I understand that you can use your own RAAus a/c for your own personal transportation for work.

For example, if you are a mechanic or similar, you can load your tools in and fly to a job. You can't charge for the flight time but you can go to and from work by air. You can claim the cost of the flight as a legitimate bussiness expense.

This is my understanding of the regs and the tax system. I am not a lawyer or an accountant.

Qwerty staying on topic......:thumb_up:

What Qwerty said.

I know a couple of people have managed to get their RA aircraft accepted as a business expense and even grabbed the 50% allowance in the process, good for them, wish I could have justified that. Does seem strange that you can quite happily charge for your travelling by car, but not if you fly - I suspect the tax man would have no drama with the concept, but RA Aus almost certainly would.

I'll get it right one of these fine days, I'm sure, already had occasion to use my boat to get to a job - oops 099_off_topic.gif.20188a5321221476a2fad1197804b380.gif.

Guest Mad Dave
I know a couple of people have managed to get their RA aircraft accepted as a business expense and even grabbed the 50% allowance in the process, .

Have to be careful with this, as the a/c cannot be used for personal use at all, but you can "hire" it from yourself.

So pilots conducting glider towing, are donating their time (I'd do that!). But you have to operate through a club, to which the aircraft belongs... and then the club charges the member.

Is that how it works?

David Isaac wrote: