Can "Flight Sims" be useful?

Guest Fozzy

I am a student pilot with 20 hours experience under my wing.

When I am not flying I often practice my flying lessons on Microsoft's Flight Simulator 2004. My thinking being that the flight simulator costs less and I don't mind looking stupid practising radio calls into an invisible headset.

Some pilots I have spoken to reckon that I will develop some bad habits on the flight simulator such as an over-dependence on instruments and poor awareness of climatic conditions and the aircraft characteristics.

I realise that a flight sim can't compete with actual flying but surely it isn't as detrimental to my skill development as it has been suggested.

Any comments.

i use flight sim fairly regularly, but mainly before going on a nav somewhere, i will do the flight in the sim, to get an idea of where things should be, what navaids to tune up, that sort of thing. apart from that, i dont use it for anything much else except trying to put a 747 into Hoxton park, or fly a c152 over the himalayas.

Guest In-cog-neto

Hi fozzy,

I use Flight sim to practice IFR Approachs to help keep my brain current when I'm not IFR flying. I tell my GA students that flight sim is to help understand radio nav-aid intercepts and tracking.

They can be good to learn you pre-take off checks etc. Ultralights is right about bad habits creeping in because using at home is unsupervised. In other words, you instructor wont know what you are doing wrong. Also, you don't get real control force that requires trimming.

However, when used correctly flight sims can help reinforce procedures like setting the aircraft up for a climb, Straight and level etc. Good Ole P.A.S.T. and all that stuff.

Hope this helps

In-cog

Guest sypkens

I have been playing flight sims since ms flight sim version 1 came out. when i did my flight training my instructors take on it was that i have been flying for a long time.