Classes

Nev25

I'm a complete newbie here but I'm wondering if someone could please explain to me the difference between a MICROLIGHT,ULTRALIGHT,AND LIGHT. (and what ever comes next)

Guest Crezzi

In Australia, microlight is traditionally used to describe weightshift "trikes". Trikes are also sometimes called powered hang gliders which is wrong (anybody who has lifted a trike wing will understand why you wouldn't be running anywhere with one).

There are lightweight (< 70kg) minimal trikes with hang glider wings which are referred to as nanolights. This is effectively a self launch hang glider as are foot launched powered hanggliders sugh as the Doodlebug.

In Australia ultralights is pretty much exclusively used to describe three axis aircraft. Which just leaves powered parachutes, paramotors etc etc.

In many other countries (such as UK and NZ), the term microlight is used to describe both trikes and 3 axis aircraft.

Hope that helps !

John

Guest pelorus32

Hi Nev,

not sure that distinction matters!!

In Australia I reckon the relevant distinction is between General Aviation (GA) and Recreational Aviation (RA). GA is the stuff like your Cessna 172 etc and indeed on upwards through charter etc. You need a minimum of a Private Pilot's License (PPL) for that.

RA is what encompasses the stuff that used to be called Ultralight and is increasingly called Recreational Aircraft, and another subset call Light Sport Aircraft (LSA). For that you need an RAA Pilot's Certificate.

Purists, especially if they have been in the movement for a while, will have a different view about the importance of the Ultralight/Microlight Distinction.

Regards

Mike

Hi Crezzi

I see that you have listed a Trike and a Tecnam as the aircraft you fly. I have been thinking of late in taking the plunge and learn to fly a Trike. My concern is the different mindset of the opposite stick control i.e. pull back to go up or push forward to go up for the Trike.