Seeking Training in RA

Guest jc12

Guest jc12

I am totally new in this scene and my questions below would most probably been asked a couple million times... but please humour me and hopefully guide me along.

1. With my limited knowledge, I seem to be more inclined towards a yoke in-between legs and center console throttle layout (solely because it looks good (IMHO) and it seems easier to go GA without having a steep learning curve in terms of controls layout... does this make sense?). What are my options in terms of LSA aircraft that I can train in with such layout?

2. I live in Brisbane... what are my options in terms of flight schools having the aircrafts that you would be recommending me?

Apreciate any comments... always better to know more before jumping into the pit.

Cheers!

Guest pelorus32

Hi JC & welcome,

The bottom line for me is that your first decision is really between 3 axis (like a "normal" GA aircraft) or weightshift.

If you want to go 3 axis then they're all much of a muchness as far as controls are concerned. Just where the controls are is less different than you might think in practice.

More to the point is what is a good training aircraft and where might you go around Brisbane.

Look here for FTF in Queensland:

http://www.raa.asn.au/docs/ops/ftf_list.pdf

And here for a listing with some links.

http://www.raa.asn.au/schools/index.html

Just as important as the aircraft is the instructor. Go for a Trial Instructional Flight and work out whether you want to sit next to that person in a confined space for maybe 20-30 hours and whether you reckon you will learn from that person.

Let us know how you go.

The Queenslanders will chime in here also with more detailed suggestions.

Kind regards

Mike

Guest aaronb

jc12,