Training Costs

Guest Booker YPMQ

Guest Booker YPMQ

I am an instructor at the Hastings District Flying Club in Port Macquarie. Recently we revised our charges for flying instruction to the following:

Flying Instruction $40 p/hr

Formal pre flight briefings $20 p/hr

Theory instruction $30 p/hr (e.g.BAK, Navigation)

Test fee in addition to flying time. $50

Q1. Do you think this is in the ball park?

Q2. We do not charge anything for supervise solo. Should there be a charge for this?

Guest David C

Do you charge $40/hr training rate in addition to the hourly hire rate , if not then I assume you have made a typo and really mean $140/hr total .??

Not sure whether your figures are ball park , however I did not pay a test fee in addition to flying time at my training school . I relation to your second question , I take it you charge solo rate for supervised solo , if that is correct , then I think you would be justified in charging a training rate .

Your rates should probably reflect the type of aircraft you train on , what type do you use for training ??

Dave C

Guest Booker YPMQ

Hi Dave,

The $40 is in addition to the private hire rate of $95 per hour for our Foxbat A22. i.e. $135 dual.

We have adjusted the fees to make it more attractive for our part time instructors to do a bit more. Our instructors have local businesses and are reluctant to do too much flying training as it takes them away from their bread and butter source.

Chris,

I too have never paid for pre flight briefing as a student but from looking around other schools I see this is coming more in to vogue. A part time instructor has to devote two hours away from his/her normal job/business to do flying training and it is sometimes hard to justify for $40. (As much as we love to do it) With regard to supervised solo. We didn't make a charge for that but I see a lot of schools do as the instructor can't leave while the student is on a local area solo for example.