Just Landed Sydney - 32 yrs old

johncarlo

I got behind the Darling Harbour flight simulator last week and it was fun but a little underwhelming as the real pilot did most of the work. But I'm doing my first TIF tomorrow with Curtis and hopefully attain some licence to fly a plane eventually, my lifelong dream!

Question, am I too old for this? What if I want to become a commercial pilot? (I'm currently a professional at one of the big 4 banks - yes, looking for a career change). What are your thoughts and feedback? Earning capacity? I'm sure I'll be learning as I go, but real excited to start this adventure!

sadly the Aviation industry is not a real big earner, unless you make it to airline level, even so, only after a huge expenditure in training. at 32, your not to old, but what exactly do you want to do? instructing? airline? charter etc. its a long and expensive, but very rewarding career experience wise.

try a few different places for TIFs as each will be different, eg, Red Baron at Bankstown is a little more expensive, but will train you on a different level to most others, using RAAF military techniques so you will get a PPL or CPl, as well as be aerobatic rated at the same time. (not as an added extra) then there is the recreational flying path, which is substantially cheaper and just as much, if not more fun.

There was an article in the Sydney Morning Herald last week that some pilots earn $500K p.a.! I suppose they're the 747/A380 pilots.

Realistically, if I offered myself 8 years of flying study, could I be a commercial pilot by 40 and earn an average income of $100K?

• Caution 1

i dont know any pilots earning 500K, top check and training captain will be on near 200K, but that like saying every actor out there is an A list actor earning millions, not to mention, to get to that level takes a looog time. and lots of Money.