Changing Flying Schools During Training

Guest garrett81

Guest garrett81

Hi Guys,

i have a couple of questions in regards to changing schools midway through my student raa certificate.

can i transfer to a new school? or is it a little more complicated? and do i get the option to have a trial flight to see if i like the instructor and aircraft and so on? if so does anybody know any good ultralight schools in the surrounding areas of melbourne who have a sting or tecnam p92 echo super training aircraft? i started learning on the tecnam and then moved onto the sting and i love it (except for the slightly anoying fishtailing in straight and level cruise flying) . I would rather not have to learn another layout just yet!

further, due to the move and the recent startup of my business i have not had a lesson in a while say 3 months. i am not sure 100% on what the time frame is for completing my initial cert and what the time frame is in between lessons obviously the longer in between the more inefficient my learning but it has been unavoidable latley and probable in the near future.

if anybody has any knowledge that may enlighten me as to the answers to theese questions it would be much appreciated.

thanks guys

Garrett

Guest Sabre

Hi Garrett,

I changed schools after about eight hours due to work issues. I then had a break for about a year and then started again with Australian Pacific Aviation out of Jacobs Well . I had a TIF and away I went again.

You need a minimum of 20 hours dual and solo but a good instructor want give you a certificate unless he thinks you deserve it which could mean more hours......

Melbourne hey...brrrr...to cold stay up here...lol

Cheers

Guest garrett81

thanks,

i think i may have picked a bad time of the year to move down. i would much prefer to stay up here!

i just hope the flying is as good down here as it is in the gold coast training area!

garrett

Hi Garrett