ABBREVIATIONS.....WHAT THE ??

Guest disperse

Guest disperse

as a complete newbie the bigest problem i have faced (besides the missus:hug:) is the many many abbreviations used through out the forums and more so the RAA (recreational aviation australia)website.....im not suggesting that they're not used or explained in every post . But if we could have a thread with some explainations that would be TOPS:cool:............

GA........general aviation

MTOW...maximum take off weight

EFOTO...engine failure on take off

anyway the list go,s on and on THANKS Troy

That link is good but at a quick glance I couldn't see ARFOR, Area Forecast.

The AIP Aeronautical Information Publication has just about all the abbreviations and also definitions.

See if your flight school or instructor has a copy to look at.

Guest ozzie

Here's a couple of important ones

TORA "takeoff run available"

TODA "takeoff distance available"

substitute T for L for landing.

ozzie

Guest Redair

A few more

B1RD: A flying animal.

DFWH: Don't Fly With Him/Her.

DEAD: Don't Ever Aviate Drunk.

IDSFABIPIOMSTBTIAP: It Doesn't stand For Anything But I Printed It On My Shirt To Break The Ice At Parties.

Redair.

Abbreviations.

Going back a bit , It's EFATO. (this is from memory)engine failure AT take off. It all adds to the enormous confusion in this game. I can only sympathise with anyone starting out new, now. Personally, I hate all TLA's (Three Letter Abbreviations). Read somewhere the other day that ADF. means Austalian Defence Forces. (& all this time I thought it meant Automatic Direction Finder).At least the new new starts don"t have to unlearn the old meanings . Nev..

Guest Rocko

Abbrevs... ;)

Pucker event?

That sounds more like a Brown trousers thing! ;)

Always know it's a hair raising one, when it's a "3 change of underwear" trip!

Scotty

Guest ozzie

may as well drag the dept in on this

DCA

DOA

DOT

DOTC

CAA

CASA

DONC

I think i missed one. and the order maybe.