Airspeed, Groundspeed, TAS = Performance Confusion

One thing that I found very hard to understand at first when I was learning to fly was airspeed. Now, when I was a student I had no previous aircraft or flying knowledge so coming from a car where you put your foot down, you go faster, and therefore you travelled further. The faster you went the further you travelled or you got to a destination in a shorter period of time.

But I still get muddled up when you throw the word "Performance" into the equation of flying.

We always seem to measure an aircraft's performance in terms of "What TAS can it do?". In a nil wind scenario we would assume that Airspeed (ASI) = Ground Speed and that is the aircraft is flying over the ground at a given rate of knots. To fly an aircraft over a distance of 100 nautical miles at 100 knots it will take us 1 hour to get there.

Yet our TAS we know may be say for the sake of debate, 105 knots.

Now this is what I can't understand when you throw the word Performance in. We may have two aircraft in the same scenario, both flying 100 nautical miles at 100 knots taking 1 hour to get there yet they will have a different TAS - say 105 and 107 - am I correct in saying this?

Now take a scenario of you trying to decide which aircraft to buy between aircraft A or aircraft B and you have a preference for higher performance - remember a car has higher performance if it goes faster and gets you there quicker.

Manufacturer A says their aircraft has a TAS of 130 knots yet when you fly it yes it does have a TAS of 130 BUT you may have an indicated airspeed of say 120 knots and a ground speed of 110 knots. We can assume here then that you have a headwind of 10 knots but we have a TAS of 130.

Manufacturer B who doesn't quote TAS in their figures but when you take it for a test fly (in the same conditions as when you flew Aircraft A) you find that you have an indicated airspeed of 115 knots and a same ground speed of 110 knots.