Nano or Micro

Guest Warren Hardy

Guest Warren Hardy

I am just starting out and got the bug by seeing a Nano flying around our area. I live at the northern end of the Whitsundays. (Hydeaway Bay). After looking around a bit I feel that a micro is too big a machine for me. My partner is not interested but I am keen to go flying around the district in a single seater. Seems more thrilling than the labours and expense of fishing trips. A new private airport is to be established just nearby.

Are Nano's as safe as Micro's? What are the pros and cons, your experiences?

Warren

I have flown both ,,an Airborne microlight and a moyes max hang glider with an explorer harness. Don't plan on going to far with a hang glider setup ( unless you have a sympathetic parter for ground support) :) but for buzzing up and down the general take off vicinity I found it great..A lot lighter weight wise to set up and easier to ground handle ,plus you can just about land them anywhere and so on ..But as for microlights ,,nothing beats sitting up and having a good look around and the range is greatly extended for those trips up and down the coastline. Either choice ,,,yep sure beats fishing :big_grin:

forgot to mention ,,if you go the nanolight way ,you would have to get a certain number of hours up hang gliding b4 going down the nano light path with a glider ...hgfa site should have the min number of hours required..but after flying for a while you would prob get a feel for it when you were ready for one ...

Hi Warren,

From what I've seen and heard of Nano's, they have not enjoyed the same level of development specific to powered flight with undercarriage, as Micro's have. By this I mean that the HG wings used on Nanos don't have as much redundancy built in and the engines they use are supposedly not as developed or reliable as a Rotax447/503 which a single seater Micro would use, though these engines are apparently being discontinued by Rotax.