Travel Suggestions

Admin

I have to go over to Italy and France in the coming weeks and as I have never done a trip like this before I was just wondering if anyone has any suggestions. I need to book the cheapest airfare possible, travel between the two countries etc. I will only need to stay a couple of days in each place.

I also don't know yet but I may also need to go to Slovakia but unsure at the moment.

Thanks for any help!

Guest pelorus32

G'day Ian,

Last year I used the online travel sites - travelocity, zuji etc as a starting point. Also if you have any QF frequent flyer points you could do at least one way on those, or alternatively give yourself a business class upgrade for one leg. I ended up on a very cheap trip flying MLB-HK-Roma Fiumicino using QF to HK and using points for Business class both ways for that leg and then cattle class on CX both ways for the Rome-HK leg.

Another thought is to be flexible as to where you fly into - avoid at all costs LHR but for instance my wife used Swissair to Zurich and then a local flight to Rome - cheaper than a direct to Rome. Also you have the choice of flying into a hub like Frankfurt and then using the Eurostar trains as a cheap, quick way to Paris, Milan or wherever else you need to go.

Think laterally, it's a small place compared to here. I would never fly internally in Italy for instance - train is better/cheaper.

Depending on where you are going in Italy I could give you some help with places to stay - particularly in Firenze.

Regards

Mike

Thanks Mike - as always!

I can remember some years back that there was something called a Europass which I think was for the Trains and it gave you unlimited travel throughout Europe on the train system - or have I got my wires crossed?

I agree with Mike,