Aviat News

djpacro

Hi all,

I am new to RA-AUS and still trying to learn all the rules. I was wondering under current regulations and or the new weight limit that is being proposed will either the Decathalon or a pitts be able to be RA-AUS registered.

Sorry old son. We have a blanket 45 knot landing configuration 1G stall speed limit and a good thing it is too. The safety issue with high wing loadings and high stall speeds is that the chances of injury or death in a forced landing with dead engine increase radically as landing speeds increase. So the Pitts (all models) is out. As for the Champ, the 7ECA and 7GCAA are goers. I reckon the 8KCAB might scrape it but they might ask you to remove the rear seat because unless you are both very light and carry very little fuel it wont meet the proposed 760KG limit.

An RAAus registered aerobatic Champ sounds pretty good to me.

Except that you can't do aerobatics in an RAAus registered aircraft. You can't even practise spin recovery. So if you find yourself in a spin, your only option is to gently remind the aircraft that what it's doing is against the rules and hope it's the obedient type.

That's why spin practise was the first thing I did when I flew a Pitts a few weeks ago. Just to make sure I could remember how to recover.

DOH!!!!

Except that you can't do aerobatics in an RAAus registered aircraft. You can't even practise spin recovery. So if you find yourself in a spin, your only option is to gently remind the aircraft that what it's doing is against the rules and hope it's the obedient type.That's why spin practise was the first thing I did when I flew a Pitts a few weeks ago. Just to make sure I could remember how to recover.