Subaru EA 81 Engine Mounting

techie49

Does anyone here know where I might get a mounting (frame) for a Subaru EA81 to fit a Zodiac 601 XL. I suppose I'd be able to get one from the States but the cost and shipping makes it quite expensive. Someone in Australia must make one ????

Paul Toone

It's not difficult to make your own. Chrome Moly tube is readily available in Oz and easy enough to notch to fit together on a simple wooden jig which provides the correct distance from firewall to engine. A professional welder will then zip it together for you (TIG welding required, NOT MIG)

Cheers for that John. I'm rapidly coming to that conclusion. The only point which concerns me is any offset from a straight line to allow for the torque of the engine. I think you have to allow a degree or so, I'm no expert there. It would be nice if someone had an engineering drawing instead of re-inventing the wheel (badly).

Regards,

Paul Toone

• 11 months later...
Guest Old_Plane_Nut

engine offset