Loaing map onto gps?? please help

AJ85WA

Hi Guys:help:

I am fairly new to this but have tried my best to get things to work with no results.

I have bought a new Garmin GPS, i also purchased a licenced copy of Oziexplorer and a few maps. Ozi and the maps work fine on the pc i can add waypoints routes ect send them to gps and vice versa, no problem.

But my question is... how do i get the actual map onto the gps? i always just get the default map on the gps and not the one which i was viewing on oziexplorer.

Sorry if this is a dumb question :hittinghead:

Thanks AJ

Probably. What's the Garmin model - so I can look it up.

If probably came with software which doesn't support the map formats Ozi uses.

Yet you said you can send waypoints and routes from the PC to the GPS, so I'm confused.

The model and the name of the software would help. Also, is it a dedicated aircraft unit, a dedicated car unit, or something else?

That's why I want to know the model.

Some of them (road units) run Windows CE, but it's hidden and locked to their software on top.

The answer is very likely to be that though. You don't have OziExplorerCE loaded, and can't because you don't have Windows CE running or accessible.

Its a oregon 300 garmin. Mainly used for tracks, marine, outdoors ect.

the oziexplorer version that im using is the latest one and it does support the garmin oregon 300.

The thing i wanna know is do i have to select something saying tranfer map, or do i copy some sort of map file onto the garmin memory card...i just dont know?

thanks for helping out

OK. Looking at the manual here, the unit only supports Garmin Mapsource maps.

There's a list of maps you can buy here.

Once you have bought and loaded a Mapsource map, you select them from the menu.

Tools -> Settings -> Map -> Map Info

OziExplorer cannot export maps to a Garmin device.

It appears you can get the Garmin to output GPS info via PVT to another device running OziExplorerCE.