Liquid vs. air cooled??

Guest Crashbait

Guest Crashbait

Can anyone give me the skinny on liquid cooled vs. air cooled engines. No doubt we are talking Rotax vs. Jabiru given they seem to be the most popular power plants of choice in recreational aircraft. I don't have a preference as yet since I am only a learner pilot, but there seems to be a lot of argy-bargy out there in the aviation world, even though they both perform basically similar. It seems that if you're a Rotax man you'll always be a Rotax man (bit like Holden v. Ford) and vice versa!!

I hope to buy my own plane not too far down the track so some factual comparisons would be greatly appreciated. Cheers.091_help.gif.c9d9d46309e7eda87084010b3a256229.gif

Depth of my pockets made my decision,,, can see anything wrong with air cooled engines in my location and the rotax water cooled system seem quite compact and will fit in pretty small cowling ,comes down to what you feel more comfortable with I suppose ,,, If I had the cash however I'd have a 100 hp rotax in what I'm building.

Guest Maj Millard

Liam, This one got done to death a couple of months ago, if you go back through the posts a bit you'll find it............................................................................024_cool.gif.7a88a3168ebd868f5549631161e2b369.gif

Rotax has fall back position.

Liam... the Rotax has one nice feature that the Jabiru doesn't. If you loose the liquid coolant in the Rotax you can continue operation albeit at a reduced power setting on the basis of "get you home". Liquid cooling has better properties as far as thermal shocks go, so this should result in longer life in the case of the Rotax.

The Rotax also has a form of ceramic liner to the cylinders and just recently I inspected a Rotax 912 that had been pulled apart for inspection at 1750 hrs and the machining marks were still readily discernible on the cylinder walls. Don't think the Jabiru would come up the same at 1750 hrs but I might be wrong on that.