Financing a CPL

shags_j

Hi All,

Just some queries on how anyone can possibly finance a CPL. I am keen to do it (I hate my job). What I want to know is how do you finance it? Do you just go and get a personal loan? How does the repayments work if you are training for flying full time?

I'm an accountant and I just cant get the numbers to work or am I overthinking it?

Cheers,

Shags

Biggest problem is that I'm 30 and time has passed me by a bit. I didn't have the guts to pursue it (financially) while I was younger. I listened to others around me who told me it was not possible. My mistake.

Shags....look in to it properly first. Even with a fresh CPL you will find it hard to get work. When I was looking they wanted at least 400-500 hours before they would employ you for insurance purposes. So its all great financing the first 150-200 hours then you still need more hours before you can get work. Then you are competing with 18 year olds with rich Daddy's who paid for their training and are basically flying for free to get their hours up. Its a bitch I tell you! I cant afford to fly for basically nothing but I can still fly for fun now!

Scotty :thumb_up:

mmm.. Welcome to the machine..

A quick answer is this, get into paid, or free flying as quickly as possible.

RAA instructor rating is one way, or volenteering in skydive or glider towing ops is another way.

The prospects for a bare 200 hour CPL holder aren't flash, realistic employment starts at around the 500 hour mark (in my opinion).

A CPL with instructor rating would be the cheapest and quickest way into paid flying on the GA line.

I would reccomend getting into it with the minnimal amount of debt possible.

How m,any hours PIC do you have?

• Like 1

In my small understanding, you either have to have the money, or get a loan from someone/where.

The numbers probably won't line up, cause to make a small fortune in aviation, you start with a big one! ;);)