radio problems

Hi all,

I'm trying to solve a rather interesting radio problem on my friend's microlight.

Radio Transmissions & receptions on the ground while taxiing are fine (as verified by radio checks and traffic hearing me ok 15 miles away on ground), but once airborne - transmissions are still fine however receptions become very weak as if the volume was turned down all of a sudden? I verified with one other pilot on the ground then after that he heard me loud & clear on ground and in the air at all times.

He has a Vertex VXA-220 radio interfaced with raptor box intercom and antenna mounted on top of kingpost (similar set up to my trike, I have the VXA-150 - which works perfect). I have replace the antenna coax with good quality single strand core RG58, routed the coax well away from power/ignition cables, crimped new BNC & SMA connectors and still no joy :(

Can anyone please help us? :(

Dennis

Regulator

I am no expert, but it sounds to me like there could be some sort of interference from the aircraft, more than likely the engine electrical. Also double check all connections again.

There is a very good engine regulator that is advertised in the in the RAAus mag which usually solves those problems. The man that supplies these will also be able to help you with advise on your problem.

Harthy

Hi Oz