Lanolin spray

hihosland

Greetings Flying folk,

As an anti corrosion treatment I have been spraying the various exposed bolt heads, wires and linkages with a lanolin spray.

Despite wiping off the excess I am getting black/brown mud/oil accretions that blows off in nasty staining spots onto the

Dacron fabric.

Looks nasty and won't clean off completely.

Is there a more suitable lubricant/protectant that

a...won't bleed off in the slip stream

b...won't attract dust

c...won't stain.

I believe that cyclists use some solid chain lubricant that looks like candle grease and that there are very sticky lanolin preparations.

I have no experience with either of these

Any and all advice greatly appreciated.

Davidh

Hi David,

I use a wax lubricant on my mountain bike and have done so for the last six years or so.

The current product is a spray-on made by Finish Line (any good bike shop will have this or similar). Its called KryTech and is a formulation containing DuPont's Krytox and paraffin wax.

It bonds to metal. Sets up dry and is non-greasy - no oily film. Its the ducks guts for a bikes moving parts. I spray it on everything! A word of warning though....it isnt easy to get off surfaces when you do need to replace it. I use a hot pressure washer and presoak with kero.

Will it do a job for you?? I certainly think its worth a shot - it definitely prevents corrosion and is a top lubricant! Make sure you allow it to set well, I would leave it for at least 24hrs before you fly.

The best thing about this stuff? Its cheap at about $13.00 for a 255gm can!

Cheers

Roger

Guest Juliette Lima

Hi hihosland,

Just out of interest, were you using Lanox (from the inox family).

It was recommended to me, but I hav'nt had the need....as yet!

Thank you

JL

An aircraft owner I know sprays MR Sheen Furniture Polish on all exposed parts that are likely to corrode

He says it works great is cheap & clean and also can be used to clean the rest of the aircraft.