Coming to Australia

GDL

I am coming to Australia early in 2012 and bringing a friend. As a Canadian ultralight pilot, I am looking forward to trying out some of your planes and fields and places (will probably be in the Caloundra area), but need to enjoy some of the other sites in Australia.

A question for the group. We have heard that Sidney is just beautiful and with many places to see. What does Melbourne offer in comparison? We have limited time in Australia and does a side trip to Melbourne make sense. I have heard it is also a beautiful city but the guidebooks are not very helpful.

Hi Mozzie. Thanks for that. I probably will not fly in Melbourne (although I can't say that for certain). I was more interested in what the city offers for things to do and see for my friend. Neither of us have been to Australia before and we thought about traveling from Sidney to Melbourne just to look it over.

I probably will settle in the Caloundra/Brisbane area to do some flying. I might still be jet lagged from a 16 hour flight from my area (and my friend even further), so flying the first few days might be a bit much.

Hi Ignition. I have been thinking of taking a train, rather than plane or car, to get around. We will be there 3-3.5 weeks, and really want to set up somewhere to relax (Caloundra seems the spot so far). But we have this chance to see a few spots and Melbourne has come up. What I have been told so far is Sidney is the place to see. But we have a brief opportunity to see other places like Melbourne. Is it worth it for the time to take.

You make good points about the distances. I am coming from Canada with its distances (Toronto for me is nearly 5000 km and I try not to do the weekend trip, ever!). It probably isn't worth it for Melbourne unless we travel directly there instead of Sidney. Also a possibility.