2nd Solo Nav Ex &lessons learnt.

Hi guys, I went on my 2nd Solo Nav Ex yesterday... I learnt lots from my mistakes and have loads of questions.

I am a low time pilot with only around 70hrs and still a student going through my X-Country endorsement. Yesterday I went on my 2nd solo Nav Ex, I found myself getting so worked up with nerves that I am going to do the wrong procedures getting into the aerodromes, and having my head down in the maps trying to make sure I know exactly where I am at all times and not keeping a good look out. Do most students and low time pilots feel this way? Does one get more relaxed about everything, but not to relaxed that you get complacent?

Like driving a car, that it becomes almost second nature?

What I learnt...yesterday there were fairly strong winds and i had just read in the text book a few days early about 'rotor' turbulence on the lee side of mountains. I did have a tailwind going into these mountains so experience massive updraft, and being nervous about what was awaiting me on the lee side I decided to instead descend and go around the range to the aerodrome on the other side (Watts Bridge). Talking to my instructor and a few pilots after I probably over panicked and made a bad decision giving up altitude. So I learnt you shouldn't give up height and should have used that updraft to get even more height going over the range. I was also experiencing a lot of turbulence which had me on edge the whole flight.

Cheers,

Kyle.

Kyle:

I can't speak for others, but the first few times I flew into "other airfields" I was also apprehensive. I had to do a lot of position plotting in my head about where to approach the airfield from to enter the circuit etc and that added a bit to my stress levels.

It does get easier with practice. It never gets as relaxed as driving a car, but as you get more confidence with your navigation the workload eases up and you start to get ahead of the airplane rather than just keeping up.