Corby Starlet

Good day hope some one can help me with more information. I am busy building a Corby Starlet plan no 940.

I have being building from 2014 and is busy with the wings. I am a pilot as well as a aircraft engineer with my own maintenance company.

I am flying just for the fun and have close to a thousand hrs. But I have never flown a tail dragger.

Can any one give me information on speeds, handling do's and don't on this aircraft.

What is the feel on how much tail dragger hours I must do to get in the Corby seat.

In general how does it handle and how does it glide.

Any information will helt

I built my Corby No 196 many years ago and have 400 hours on it. Powered by a Jab 2200 engine. That is plenty of power and full throttle will take you over Vne.

It is easy to fly as far as I am concerned, but I havn't flown a Pitts or other twitchy plane so have nothing to compare. I owned a thruster before the corby and I would say that if you can fly a Thruster you can fly a Corby. I also fly an RV4, which is so close in handling characteristics to the Corby that you would think they were the same.

The Corby of course does not have flaps, so you have to be able to slip it in or rely on power to control the glide. It does slip very well My plane stalls at 38kts according to my pilot notes, but I like to approach at 65 for landing, it is possible to fly straight and level at 60kts, but the attitude is nose high and a bit of power is required to hole height.