Managing the Culture

Rich

Hi everyone

I just wanted to post my thoughts and hope that someone can align my perception.

I am new to this sport and cant get enough, I am so interested that I want to buy an aircraft.

I posted on the Thruster thread last night about an incident where the tail plane had broken.

The point I was making and the thing that concerns me is that we all found out about this incident by accident.

Robin advises that he sent a report to RA AUS but apparently they did not get it. Tony from TOSG was very concerned that he was not aware of the incident and of course wants to prevent an further problems.

As a prospective aircraft buyer I am very busy doing all I can to get all the information I can about type and specific plane history so I can make the most informed decision I can.

This is where I need some help in understanding the culture of this sport.

Do we have a culture where people avoid telling anyone about an accident or incident so as to avoid embarrassment or to possibly devalue the aircraft involved.

Do people refrain from telling others about incidents we know of, so as to protect the name of our mates.

Do people refrain from notifying RA AUS because we fear our flying ability will come into question.

Or is peoples experience that the incidents are reported to RA AUS and simply not followed up, or lost in the black hole of missing emails.

As I look for the right plane and find out which one suits me best, I want to be confident that I don't miss anything because it was deliberately hidden or missed due to poor processes.

What I do know is that those involved in recreational Flying want to be seen as professionals and people with high standards of operation.

The issue I have is one of continued safety, and what we are prepared to tolerate as an operational model.

Cheers

Rich 025_blush.gif.9304aaf8465a2b6ab5171f41c5565775.gif

I'll jump in.