Qantas 747 wing fairing torn off

It is interesting, not to say passing strange that the dictum, don't speculate on causes of incidents has been well and truly blown away by the main stream media following this spectacular incident. I wonder what happened to the reports of serious corrosion in 747 Longreach? Could this be an attempt by freinds of Qantas boss Geoff Dixon to send the hounds off the scent of possible sub standard maintenance?

I believe we should all take a step back and wait for the final report to come in. I think if the facts are looked at in a more non sceptical way people would realise that this issue doesn't relate in any way to corrosion.

I'm not an engineer or an accident investigator. I am a member of the travelling public and I can read. When people involved in the maintenance of these people freighters raise the matter of corrosion in airframes I begin to take a keen interest in this dialogue. I think that there are shareholders who have a particular interest and there are others. All views should be heard and discussed. Free speech is another of the features of our democracy.

The latest I saw in the media was that the corrosion found was in the seat frames, also that the 747 in question hasn't had overseas maintenance. It looks as if there may be a problem with an oxygen cylinder.

The Australian media loves to knock Qantas, but it is the worlds second oldest airline and has a brilliant safety record. The only older airline was responsible for one of the worst air disasters , and who would rather fly with United or Garuda? I certainly will not fly with an Tndonesian airline nor Thai nor New Zealand.

Very True Yenn,

The truth is that this perticular 747 corrosion was only in the seat frames and also true there has been no overseas maintanence on this aircraft. It's always amusing to see people bag our national airline but when it comes to the crunch their bum always lands on their seats.