Recommended reading

Guest Redair

Greetings each, (again). Well my "Getting Started" question got me some sound advice, so here goes again.

As I am pretty much decided that I am going to start my training in the very near future, I would like to know if anyone has any recommendations on which, (if any) books would be worth purchasing so that I can get a head start before signing up for lessons. I have seen that there are an awful lot to choose from, and they vary greatly in price. As I am new to all this, I don't want to be buying books with information that will not be relevant, or that would be written with aero-engineers in mind. Also, I have decided that Iwant togo down the 3 axis route for training, so would be looking for books more aimed at that than at trike flying. Also, any thoughts on PPL packages, would it be worth buying one of these? I assume that much of the PPLsyllabus would be relevant to ultralight training.

Looking forward to your replies, Redair.

G'day Redair,

I've just started training and have bought the ' Student Pilot Kit ' by the Aviation Theory Centre. Costs about $140 and has BAK manual, Flying Training Manual, Flight Radio For Pilots and a Pilots Log Book. It's a basic kit for PPL and covers everything for RAA. Also handy if you decide to go further (eg PPL)

regards

Case

Guest StingGuy

Hi Redair

Yep The Student Pilot Kit would seem to be the standard... for RA you probably will get most of what you need from the BAK Book, but the others in the kit will set you up for further endorsements and study.

Here at Shepparton http://www.flytoday.com.au we have started offering the Long Briefings as part of the training available. If you have an instructor do 10 one hour briefing sessions you'll 'GET' the info much more effectively. The theory is very relevant when you apply it in the air... so getting the study happening will make your time in the plane more valuable. Hope you make it a great learning experience.

Guest pelorus32