Joys of building you own

Guest highace10

Guest highace10

Hello,

Being my first post i would like to introduce myself and say hi. Im guessing most of the people around here have been interested in aircraft/flying since they were knee high to a grasshopper, well..... nothing is different with me. Im a relatively inexperienced pilot but with some special experiences that at some stage i would like to share. I am into all of this stuff so much i joined the RAAF and now i fix these things for a living...specifically the Hawk 127.

Now....onto my question. 099_off_topic.gif.20188a5321221476a2fad1197804b380.gif

I was wondering if people could share some experiences of building their own aircraft. A little while down the track i would like to build my own.

It would be good to hear from people around Australia especially with materials, kits etc being a little less abundant than the US.

Thanks

Ace

Ace.

I am sure there are several bulders on this forum. I built a Corby Starlet from plans, but I think most nowadays buy a kit. Only lack of funds stops me buying a Cheetah kit from gary Morgan.

Most of the stuff I used came from Aircraft Spruce in the USA, including the spruce timber. It is OK to use Hoop Pine instead of spruce as it is stronger but slightly heavier, but unfortunately you can't easily use smaller timber sections as stiffness of the structure would be a problem. A lot of fittings can be bought in Australia, but my experience was that they cost more than those sourced from USA and also take longer to arrive. I have regularly ordered fittings on a Monday, by email from USA and they have arrived on Friday.

Engines are made in Australia, Jabiru and Rotec and Rotax are easily available.

I ahve just discovered a drawback with fafric covering, the cost of Stits materials is fairly high, but as thay are considered to be dangerous goods the freight cost is astronomical.