Can you make money from Recreational Aviation

Powerin

Along the same lines as Tomo's thread about RA aircraft making money, I'd be interested in some opinions on making money, or even a living, out of Recreational Aviation generally. After 4 years drought thumb_down I'm thinking it might be time to explore options other than farming. Aviation would be my first choice but I think I'm too old (45) for commercial aviation.

I think I'd love both instructing and aircraft maintenance, perhaps even setting up a school. Do you think there is a demand for more (or even a shortage of) instructors and lames? Is there enough work in those areas to make a modest living (I'm a farmer...I'm used to living modestly 006_laugh.gif.0f7b82c13a0ec29502c5fb56c616f069.gif ), or is it only something you would do in your spare time to help pay for your own flying habit?

I realise this is like asking about the length of a piece of string, but I'm interested to hear your thoughts. Thanks.

Peter

Guest basscheffers

The fastest (only?) growing segment of general aviation? can you make money from that? Of course you can!

Just have to offer the right product in the right location... Have a look at what's going on around you. In your neck of the woods, neither Mount Gambier nor Hamilton have an RA-Aus school listed. (Really?) Sounds like there's some opportunity there.

But before you can have your own school (be a CFI) you'll need experience as an instructor under another CFI. That'll take while; better start learning to fly! :)

To be an instructor; you'll need at least 75 hours command and then do the course. Then there is a number of hours before you can be senior, then more for CFI. So a fair few.

Of course to do maintenance for reward on other people's RA-Aus aircraft, you need only a level 2 maintenance endorsement, not be a LAME.

Of course to do maintenance for reward on other people's RA-Aus aircraft, you need only a level 2 maintenance endorsement, not be a LAME.