Prop Failure

Admin

Hi All

Tomorrow I will be having the prop replaced on my Gazelle with a brand new Gazelle Certified 2 Blade Wooden one. In thinking about this whilst mentally preparing for my next flight although like any work done on my aircraft I always get a LAME or for minor things a Level 2 to do the work (even oil changes) but what about the prop iteself?

I am going to be very very anxious for the first few hours as new props are really an unknown factor, I mean can they X-Ray wooden props for any flaws or weak grain parts, is the wood really really dried out before they make the prop, what's the failure rate of brand new wooden props etc?.

What I need to know is what would happen and what should I do if say the prop splits in flight, or breaks half a blade or full blade - what are the different scenarios and what would you do if any of these things happened whilst you are merrily cruising away.

Thanks for any comments!

Ian,

I'm no expert here, and thank the Lord, I have no experience with this. However, from conversations I've had re prop failure it seems that the first thing one is likely to experience is severe vibration. And in bad cases there is a real risk of shaking the engine from its mounts. From what I understand, and the thinking I go through in the air, is that the first reaction should be an immediate closing of throttle and shut down. After that of course comes the inevitable forced dead-stick landing. Not a nice thought, however, a controlled forced landing is a much better option than losing lots of forward weight and spiraling in tail first :yuk:.

Just my thoughts,

Paul

I've had a passenger "lose" his helmet in flight. It blew off as he was looking out to the right of the trike, hit the prop and got fired forwards and upwards to the left of the plane (according to the passenger).