Training Standards

Just sitting here stuffing envelopes and got to thinking about our current training standards. Particularly interested to know just how competent people felt (and more importantly how competent they might now feel they actually were) in their abilities when they first got their licence?

I've been loitering around the pre-GFPT stage for many years now (not too fussed about it - just fly when I want for fun) but i've often thought it well and good to pass the test but having been around the aviation scene for 5 years now i'm quite comfortable admitting i've got nowhere near the situational awareness of any instructor i've ever flown with. Just sitting around the airport on weekends it's pretty obvious i'm not the only one in this boat. After many lessons with a 30,000-hour instructor and his responses when young or inexperienced pilots come wafting along and don't clearly state their location or intentions (if anything at all) it's often made me wonder about people's perception of their own abilities and whether the training we're doing can make any difference?

Just barely getting started myself, but I can attest from the motorcycle scene that the only way to gain a great level of situational awareness is to have been in all of those situations at some level. I think training can make plenty of difference, but only to the extent that enough scenarios play out during those sessions over time for us to build a "repertoire" of reactions.

Great topic!

Guest davidh10

As is said so many times, the License / Certificate is a ticket to learn. If things are as they should be, one attaining that goal, one should be competent, but not expert. Where each individual goes from there is very dependent on their attitude.

If one can recognise one's own limitations, and fly within them, while continuing to learn and gain experience, then it becomes a journey of continuous improvement.

u