Any RA Instructors or L2's making a living out of RA?

Thirsty

As the title suggest I'm curious if any Instructors or L2's are making a living out of RA work. Not really interested in people that have GA qualifications as well as RA.

I'm an instructor and L2 and I do it for the love of it but I was wondering on my way home tonight whether anyone actually does this for a crust. Seems to me from reading this forum that most do it for fun or part time or whatever.

Thirsty

I believe John Gordon (CFI at Emerald qld) runs his flying school as his main income.

Also there are a quople of schools in Bundaberg where the CFI's are RAA only and do the same.

Safe Flying

JJabSP6

Thanks mate. I work for a CFI who makes his living out of his school. I was more interested in guys who work for someone though and still make a living at it. I know in GA most instructors are just building hours to get to an airline job but in RA that's not an option so do we all just do it for fun?

Thanks mate. I work for a CFI who makes his living out of his school. I was more interested in guys who work for someone though and still make a living at it. I know in GA most instructors are just building hours to get to an airline job but in RA that's not an option so do we all just do it for fun?

The R in R A Aus stands for recreational so that might answer some of your question, there is no L in R A Aus, so doing it for the love of it may be a bit misplaced?

Too true however it is written that instructing is the only "commercial" activity allowed hence money can change hands for doing that.

I'm of the opinion that a few cfis may well be making a living at this but there will be very few and probably no instructors making a living.

The only real living to be made in Aviation is working for CASA or the ATSB. Failing that there are some CFI positions that pay appropriate wages however they can be pretty borderline.