Flight Following

Alpi

Hi Captain

I am no expert on flight following, only used it a few times and have never been refused by ATC when I've requested it.

To answer your question in the case of Bris to Bundy, Brisbane Radar terminate when they can no longer recieve your Transponder signal. You can request handover in which case they hand you over to the next area radar and you just continue on.

Yes my SP6 is RAA registered.

I believe that by using flight following we are enhancing our safety and have a very strong case to be where we are namely above 5000. After all it's the powers that be that introduced Flight Following and encourage us to use it so we are really just using whats available to us.

I think it's possibly one of the most underutilised facilities as far as RAAus is concerned and certinally an area of leverage should we ever want to get the 5000 ft limit raised in the future.

Regards Greg

Onya Greg

I agree with you that this adds to our safety.

Whenever I used to take my boat up the coast I always used the Coast Guard's similar system and they just handed you, or rather you handed yourself, from one station to the other.

I have been searching for procedural info on Flight Following but can't find too much.

How have you found the Flight Following heights elsewhere. Do you mostly need to be above 5000 to log in?

On radio procedures, do you use whatever is the local ATC frequency and just monitor that all the way ..... or do you come back to local CTAF frequencies etc and let the transponder do all of the work?

Coming into Bundaberg for example, do you need to be on the ATC frequency to acknowledge the end of Flight Following, before switching to the Bundaberg CTAF frequency?

Sorry for all the Q's. Hope they are not too dumb. Look forward to your further advice.

Regards Geoff

Greg