PPL books

Any suggestions for PPL books? I can't remember what I studied from before for the GA BAK/PPL, but it was ok. not great, but ok.

I was looking at the airservices site and they have the ATC PPL/CPL set for a fairly attractive price ($260). I don't think I will go onto CPL, but more knowledge is more, right?

• Agree 1

Recently bought the Bob Tait Recreational Aircraft BAK and Recreatioanl Aircraft Cross Country Endorsement Text Books and Ebooks to review for my BFR.

Don't waste your money on the Ebooks, they are nowhere near as useable as other Ebooks, no search function etc. Get the text book. With a real text book you can also make your own notes in them, flip between pages ( look back to a previous chapter to remind yourself of the meaning of a defined term).

I have only studied for a RA Aus Pilot Certificate, not a PPL; but I have used

Bob Tait BAK (including the new ones above), good, CFI's have loved and recommended but I personally found it lacking.

John Brandon's text on this website, very good Free

Delta Recreational Flying Services, easiest to understand but seemed to jump about a bit. Cheaper than Bob Tait or Dyson Holland

Dyson Holland, very thorough and technical similar pricing to Bob Tait

Fly Better series by Noel Kruse, an excellent follow-up once you have passed your BAK, free on Internet.

• Agree 1
  • Winner 1

I had the Bob Tait books, and eventually did the Bob Tait Course. I reckon 90% of the questions I got in the actual PPL exam were what is found in the back of the Bob Tait PPL book.

About the only thing I struggled with is the Threat and Error Management shite, but I think there were 2 questions on the PPL and I failed both from memory. I got 88% in the end, I was happy with that. I think you can download a TEM supplement on Bob Taits website which should help you along. I still reckon TEM is a load of bollocks.

• Agree 1

Hey Ada Elle,

I've used the following text books for my RA-Aus, PPL and CPL exams.