Savannah VG Kit / build question

kbstone

Hi Savannah builders!  I've been browsing this site for a few months and I recently purchased an unfinished Savannah VG kit (circa 2005) and plan on finishing the rest of the build this next year.

I'm in Grand Junction, Colorado USA and look forward to sharing my build and learning from others along the way.  I recently finished building a Glasair Sportsman 2+2 and love the plane but I wanted something I could "bang" around in more so it came down to this or a Zenith 701.  I love the building as much as the flying so I'm hooked, like many of you!  BTW....I'm not getting rid of my Sportsman :-).

One of the first questions that I'd like to ask the forum is regarding the Rotax 912ULS vs. 912is.  I would prefer fuel injected but I'm not sure how much modification is needed.  I'm currently researching both engines and will buy mine soon.  I've not seen any reports on the 912iS installed in the Savannah so I'm guessing there might be some install issues.  Any insight would be appreciated.

My second question would be the engine mount.  My kit has the "older" mount that used the bottom mounting bolt on the Rotax 912.  The US dealer is recommending I upgrade to the "round" mount that used the mounting holes on the back of the 912.  Rotax installation many even recommends using the rear/back mounting bolts instead of the bottom ones.   Is it worth the extra cost to buy the round engine mount or has the original one worked fine?

Thanks again for any insight!

Kyle

Hi Kyle!

While I have no particular opinion on your two questions,  I wanted to wish you luck with your build. 

We love seeing progress photos!

I'm scratch building a CH701, I picked up a round mount second hand - but probably would have built the bed mount if that hadn't been advertised. 

All the best!

https://www.recreationalflying.com/forums/topic/28196-marty-ds-ch-701-build-log/page/31/#comments

• Like 1

Gidday Kyle.