To Readers' Queries for Fellow Pilots.

Tomo

I came across this in this months "Flight Safety" Mag ~

I have been flying Cessna 172 aircraft for over twenty years, When I was doing my training on the Central Coast of NSW it was drummed into me to always use carby heat when lowering revs prior to landing. I was instructed that it is good airmanship to use carby heat no matter where you fly. I now fly out of the Gold Coast, and have done so for twelve years. After moving here, and doing check flights - when it's time to apply carby heat, some instructors tell me not to. They say it is not necessary in warmer climates. One even pushed the carby heat control in, saying it takes away power. I would be interested to hear FSA and your readers' attitude on this.

Guest Decca

This may have been discussed before, but it's good to review a pilot killer like this.

"not necessary" ain't necessarily so. Conditions in & around the carb venturi are very different to how the weather outside can make one feel safe.

Tomo there's a carb icing probability chart on p.103 of the vfr guide. Do a couple of exercises on that to find that humidity doesn't have to be 100%, and temp doesn't have to be freezing. You'll need a magnifying glass to read it, & there may be charts easier to read if you google them, but it will give you some idea that it's not worth the risk not to suffer a slight decrement in power by using carb heat.

Regards, Decca.

Carb. heat in warm (& moist) climates.

Carburettor ice is formed when there is enough moisture in the atmosphere, and the temperature in THE CARB. is below freezing. The temp is LOWERED in the carb by pressure drop (due to venturi and throttling) and the evaporation of fuel. ie the carb acts like a refrigerator. (put some avgas on your hand and shake it in the breeze, and it will get quite cold).